a img { display:none; } a:hover img { display:block; } -->

Monday, November 26, 2012

The 90's Goalie Project

  A new project I am going to be working on is getting the rookie year card of every goalie who played in the 1990s.  To be technical, from the 1989-90 season to the 1999-2000 season.  There are 195 goalies who played at least a single game during those season, but 22 of them never had a NHL card produced of them.  So that leaves 173 cards to collect.
A Sample of 90s Goalie Goodness

  I have decided to put a few rules into place.
  1) Player must be in a NHL uniform.  So that mean no World Junior Championship cards or Canada Cup cards.
  2) No draft picture cards.  This rules outs Martin Brodeur's true rookie and instead leaves me with one of this 1992-93 cards.
  3) Preference given to horizontal pictures.
  4) Reprints will be acceptable for the most expensive cards (ie Patrick Roy) which I already own.  This is meant to be a cheap project.  I won't have one card with a greater cost than the other 172 combined.

   Below is the complete list of goalies who played in the 1990s and had a card produced.  Included is the year their "rookie" card was produced.  Some of these goalies only had a single card of them made.  I already have a bunch, have some incoming, and I am sure I have more that are still hiding in boxes.  I think this will make for a fairly interesting set once I get them all into a binder.

Tom Askey1998Brian Hayward1986Steve Passmore1999
Jean-Sebastien Aubin1998Glenn Healy1990Pete Peeters1980
Scott Bailey1995yGuy Hebert1992Jean-Marc Pelletier1999y
Mike Bales1995Ron Hextall1987Frank Pietrangelo1990
Tom Barrasso1984Corey Hirsch1992yFelix Potvin1991
Don Beaupre1981Milan Hnilicka2001Daren Puppa1989i
Stephane Beauregard1990Kevin Hodson1996Andre Racicot1991i
Ed Belfour*1990yBruce Hoffort1990Jamie Ram1996i
Jean-Claude Bergeron1990Jim Hrivnak1990Bill Ranford1987
Daniel Berthiaume1987Kelly Hrudey1985Daryl Reaugh1990y
Allan Bester1984Jani Hurme2000Pokey Reddick1990
Zac Bierk1998Peter Ing1990Jeff Reese1990i
Craig Billington1991Arturs Irbe1991Damian Rhodes1993i
Martin Biron1996Pat Jablonski1991Mike Richter1990
John Blue1992Pauli Jaks1994iVincent Riendeau1990i
Brian Boucher1999Brent Johnson1998iDwayne Roloson1996
Fred Brathwaite1993Curtis Joseph1990yRoberto Romano1986
Martin Brochu2000Nikolai Khabibulin1994Dominic Roussel1991
Martin Brodeur1990yTrevor Kidd1991Patrick Roy*1986
Sean Burke1988Scott King1992Tommy Salo1995y
Jim Carey1994Rick Knickle1993Geoff Sarjeant1994y
Jon Casey1989Dieter Kochan2000Paxton Schafer1997i
Frederic Chabot1997Olaf Kolzig1990Corey Schwab1995i
Tim Cheveldae1990Les Kuntar1994Steve Shields1997
Alain Chevrier1986Jean-Francois Labbe2000Mikhail Shtalenkov1994
Dan Cloutier1997Patrick Labrecque1995iPeter Sidorkiewicz1989
Jacques Cloutier1990yBlaine Lacher1994Peter Skudra1997
Marcel Cousineau1996Mark LaForest1990yGarth Snow1993y
Byron Dafoe1994Patrick Lalime1996Tommy Soderstrom1992
Matt DelGuidice1991Marc Lamothe1999Christian Soucy1994y
Marc Denis1996Scott Langkow1999Robb Stauber1990y
Philippe DeRouville1995Ray LeBlanc1992Greg Stefan1984
Tom Draper1991Manny Legace1998Jamie Storr1994
Parris Duffus1997Reggie Lemelin1981Rick Tabaracci1990y
Mike Dunham1996Mike Lenarduzzi1993Kari Takko1990y
Robert Esche1999David Littman1993Robbie Tallas1997
Bob Essensa1990Mike Liut1980John Tanner1990i
Scott Fankhouser1999Danny Lorenz1992Chris Terreri1990
Manny Fernandez1995yRoberto Luongo1997Jose Theodore1996
Eric Fichaud1994Darrin Madeley1993yJocelyn Thibault1993
Stephane Fiset1990yClint Malarchuk1986Mike Torchia1995y
Mark Fitzpatrick1990Norm Maracle1998Andrei Trefilov1992
Wade Flaherty1995Chris Mason2000Ron Tugnutt1989y
Norm Foster1991Kirk McLean1989yRoman Turek1996
Mike Fountain1996Jamie McLennan1993Steve Valiquette2000y
Bob Froese1983Roland Melanson1983John Vanbiesbrouck1986
Grant Fuhr*1982Alfie Michaud1999Mike Vernon1987
Joaquin Gage1995Greg Millen1979Tomas Vokoun1997
Dave Gagnon1991 iMike Minard2000Jimmy Waite1990
Troy Gamble1990Andy Moog1981Darcy Wakaluk1991
Tyrone Garner1999Tyler Moss1997Rick Wamsley1982
Jean-Sebastien Giguere1997Jason Muzzatti1993yKevin Weekes1997
Scott Gordon1990Jarmo Myllys1990iSteve Weeks1982
Mario Gosselin1985Sergei Mylnikov1990iKay Whitmore1990
John Grahame1999Evgeni Nabokov1999Derek Wilkinson1997
Jeff Hackett1990Mike O'Neill1992iKen Wregget1987
Glen Hanlon1979Chris Osgood1993Wendell Young1990
Dominik Hasek1991Rich Parent2000

1 comment: